Jim Sarra named UIS athletic director

Jim Sarra named UIS athletic director

Photographs courtesy of uisprairiestars.com

Marc Cox, Editor-in-Chief

Earlier today the UIS Department of Athletics announced Jim Sarra will officially replace Kim Pate as the Director of Athletics on Aug. 1.

Sarra is currently the deputy director of athletics at the University of Texas San Antonio (UTSA), which is an NCAA Division I school and a member of Conference USA.

Sarra began at UTSA in 2005 as the assistant athletics director for compliance. In 2006, Sarra took over as the associate athletics director for administration. Sarra also served as the associate director of athletics for external affairs from 2007 to 2009.

In a statement included in a UIS Department of Athletics article, Sarra said he is “pleased to accept the Director of Athletics position.”

“This is an exciting leadership opportunity, and I look forward to getting to know the coaches and student-athletes, begin building relationships on and off campus, and settling into the community,” Sarra further said.

Chancellor Susan Koch said she is “delighted that Jim Sarra is joining the UIS leadership team.”

“Jim’s extensive experience with all facets of Athletics and his strong focus on academic success for student-athletes are among the many strengths recognized by the search committee in their recommendation. I have every confidence Jim will lead our young Division II athletics program to even a greater success,” Koch added

Sarra was a part of a pool of over 50 applicants who applied for the position. Finalists other than Sarra included Daniella Irle from the University of North Dakota, Mike Waddell from the University of Illinois, and Debbie DeJong from Long Island University.

Sarra was unanimously chosen by the 15-person search committee.

According to an article written by Marcia Martinez with the State Journal-Register, Jeff Lorber, vice chancellor for advancement, and Marcel Yoder, faculty athletics representative, chaired the search committee.

Other members of the search committee included: Ashley Beaton, Deanie Brown, Eli Cook, Michelle Green, Katheryn Kleeman, Marc Klinshirn, James Koeppe, Charles Osiris, Shannon Nicholson, Chris Ramirez, Carolyn Scholemann, Ann Strahle, and community member Guerry Suggs.